Friday, June 10, 2016

The Teller and the Tale features storyteller, writer, and sacred dance teacher Anna Barton

Anna Barton
This week, Anna Barton celebrates her 80th birthday! For more than forty of those years, Anna has lived in the Findhorn Community on the shores of the Moray Firth in the north of Scotland. Friends and other community members will gather to celebrate Anna's life and the joy she has brought them.

I first came to know Anna as a writer and storyteller. For the past several years, she has been a regular storyteller at Findhorn's monthly "Wee Ceilidh" where she'd share stories of her children and of being a parent. Fortunately, Anna kept notes when her children were young and turned them into joyful stories full of the quirky and delightful things children say and do. Anna can also turn her humour on herself, relating some of her adventures and misadventures in the world of sacred dance.

In 2015, I finally caught up with Anna in her home in Findhorn and managed to spend an afternoon reminiscing and sharing stories from her life as a parent, an early member of the Findhorn Community, as a sacred dance teacher, and now elder in the community.

In honour of her 80th birthday, the Teller and the Tale repeats this interview and wishes Anna a very Happy Birthday!!

Listen on Blues and Roots Radio, starting this Sunday 12 June at 7am ET (Canada/US), 12noon (UK/Ireland), and 9pm (Australia). Repeated on Thursday 16 June at 4pm ET, 9pm (UK) and 6am on Friday 17 in Australia.

If you miss it, go to the Teller and the Tale website where it will be posted after the end of the week.

Thursday, June 2, 2016

A Carpenter, a Forest, and a Lockett: The Teller and the Tale meets 3 American Storytellers

Regi Carpenter
In this week's programme I feature a Carpenter, a Forest, and a Lockett. Hmmm. Sounds like an interesting story, doesn't it.

This week I feature three American award-winning storytellers -- Regi Carpenter, Heather Forest, and Mike Lockett.

Regi Carpenter is a solo performance artist, author, retreat leader and performance coach. An award winning performer, Regi has toured her solo shows and workshops in theatres, festivals and schools, nationally and internationally.

Heather Forest's unique minstrel style of storytelling blends original music, folk guitar, poetry, prose and the sung and spoken word.
Heather Forest


Mike Lockett is a life-long educator and teller of tales. He is recognized for his work in education and has won awards for his recorded stories and for bilingual children's books.
Mike Lockett

Join me on Sunday 29 May at 7am ET (Canada/US), 12noon (UK/Ireland), and 9pm (Australia) and listen to some of the world's best storytellers and their stories. Repeated on Thursday June 2 at 4pm ET (Can/US), 9pm (UK/Ireland) and 6am Friday June 3 in Australia.

Go to www.bluesandrootsradio.com and click on 'Listen'.