Wednesday, June 10, 2015

The Teller and the Tale with Canadian singer-storyteller Laura Smith

This week on the Teller and the Tale I'm featuring the second of a 2-part interview with the award-winning Canadian singer/storyteller Laura Smith.

Originally from London, Ontario, Laura cut her teeth in the city's folk-music clubs during the '70s, earning herself a reputation as a songwriter and singer. She was the co-founder (with John Smale) of London's premier folk club Smales Pace, which played host to numerous Canadian and American singer-songwriters and folk groups.

Laura's career was on an upward trajectory during the '90s and early millenium. But in 2006, a series of accidents nearly ended her life and career. Subsequent addiction to pain-killers deepened the abyss she had fallen into and it seemed the world might not hear of Laura again.

However, Laura's strength and perseverance and the loyalty and support of her fans saw her eventually overcome the challenges that faced her and over the years, Laura brought herself back to her craft. In 2013 she released her first recording in sixteen years, Everything is Moving on Borealis Records. The record has received glowing reviews worldwide. It and her many concerts and performances attest that Laura's talent has only gotten better.

Laura's back.

Don't miss Part 2 of the Teller and the Tale and learn more about Laura's amazing career and music. It's a moving story.

Listen on Blues and Roots Radio (www.bluesandrootsradio.com)

Sunday 7 June at 7am EDT (Canada/US) and 12 noon GMT (UK/Ireland) and 9pm Australia
Tuesday 9 June at 8pm EDT (Canada/US) and Wed 10 June 1am GMT (UK/Ireland) and 10am Australia
Thursday 11 June at 4pm EDT (Canada/US) and 9pm GMT (UK/Ireland) and Fri June 12th at 6am Australia.

Check Blues and Roots Radio (www.bluesandrootsradio.com) schedule for times in your area.

No comments:

Post a Comment