Thursday, October 30, 2014

The Teller and the Tale featuring stories from Regi Carpenter, Heather Forest, and Mike Lockett

This week on The Teller and the Tale, I'm joined by American storytellers Regi Carpenter, Heather Forest, and Mike Lockett.


Regi Carpenter grew up on the shores of the St Lawrence River in upstate New York, in the same area that was home to her father, grandfather, and great-grandfather. Her storytelling is not only well-rooted in the soil of her childhood, but it reaches back through the generations telling of “hard knock lives lived gloriously.” She describes her family as “religious, raucous, tender, terrible, crazy and caring.” She’s been telling stories professionally since the mid 90s and has gone on to win numerous awards. She currently works as professor of storytelling at Ithaca College in upstate New York.

Heather Forest has been telling stories for the better part of 30 years. In that time she has performed all over the world and has earned numerous accolades and awards for her storytelling, including the 2003 Storytelling World Honor Award for her recording of her award-winning book "Wisdom Tales from around the World." Highly recommended. Heather lives in Huntingdon, New York where she is the Executive Director of Story Arts, a cultural arts organisation that provides storytelling concerts and workshops throughout the Long Island, New York area. She’s not only an accomplished storyteller but a musician, poet and award-winning author.
 

Finally, we meet Mike Lockett. Mike is a teacher, an author, motivational speaker, recording artist, workshop facilitator, radio host as well as a storyteller. His website cites more than 3000 performances in the US and around the world including the Far East where he’s a popular author and performer. Not surprising given that Mike has been telling stories for more than 40 years.

Halloween on Blues and Roots RadioJoin me, beginning this Sunday 26th October on Blues and Roots Radio (www.bluesandrootsradio.com) for some Halloween-flavoured tales from three of America's finest storytellers.
 

You can also learn more about our guests and listen to other shows at The Teller and the Tale web site www.thetellerandthetale.com.

Michael Williams
Host
The Teller and the Tale
www.thetellerandthetale.com
www.facebook.com/thetellerandthetale


Broadcast times:

Sunday 26 October 2014, 7am EST (Canada/US) and 11am GMT (UK/Ireland)

Tuesday 28 October 2014, 8pm EST (Canada/US) and 12 midnight GMT (UK/Ireland)

Thursday 30 October 2014, 4pm EST (Canada/US) and 8pm GMT (UK/Ireland)

Only on Blues and Roots Radio (www.bluesandrootsradio.com).  Go to the website at the appropriate time and click on the "Listen Live" button.

 

No comments:

Post a Comment