Saturday, August 16, 2014

The Teller and the Tale with storytellers Ruth Kirkpatrick and David Campbell

This week's Teller and the Tale introduces two wonderful Scottish storytellers Ruth Kirkpatrick and David Campbell.

Both grew up in the North East of Scotland and have inherited a love and respect for their 'mither tongue' and the rich Celtic heritage of storytelling. Having been mentored by Traveller storyteller Stanley Robertson, Ruth has developed a unique talent for connecting with people through story. She has pioneered the use of story with children and adolescents as part of her social and educational work and is a much sought-after workshop leader and speaker. Listen as Ruth shares her story of the 'Seven Ravens' taken from her recent Stories Allways resource pack where she is also accompanied by musicians Gica Loening and Jenny Gardner.

David Campbell was born in Edinburgh but raised in the fishing town of Fraserburgh on the Moray Firth. A former teacher and BBC Radio Producer, David has developed a sensitive ear for story and language. His passion for story was further enriched through his friendship with another Traveller storyteller Duncan Williamson, of whom he has written. Today I feature David's story about the famous song 'Loch Lomond', taken from the CD Scotland in Love, which David recorded with the singer and harpist Katie Targett-Adams.


Broadcast times:

Sunday 17 August 2014 at 7am EST (Canada/US) and 12 noon BST (UK/Ireland)

Tuesday 19 August 2014 at 8pm EST (Canada/US) and 1am BST (UK/Ireland)

Thursday 21 August 2014 at 4pm EST (Canada/US) and 9pm BST (UK/Ireland)

To listen, go to www.bluesandrootsradio.com and click on the 'Listen Live' button.


No comments:

Post a Comment